Day #234: The Eye (2008)

Synopsis:

[From IMDb:] A woman receives an eye transplant that allows her to see into the supernatural world.

My take:

Have you ever wished an actor was better at, y’know…acting? Because I wish Jessica Alba was a better actor. Not because I dislike her, or anything along those lines – quite the opposite, in fact! I was quite the fan of Dark Angel, and have had a bit of a soft spot for her since then – almost in spite of things like her involvement in the Fantastic Four movies, or any of the other movies she’s been in that could be described, at best, as mediocre*.

Like The Eye.

This isn’t all Jessica Alba’s fault though, of course. American remakes of foreign horror movies have a certain history of meeeehness (with occasional exceptions, of course). The Eye could be considered a traditionalist, in this respect.

And, to be fair, I actually don’t mind the drama aspects of The Eye. I think I actually would have gone out of my way to watch a movie with Jessica Alba having heartfelt moments with Parker Posey and Chloe Moretz. Hell, even if you threw in Alessandro Nivola as another awkward Doctor (psychologist?). I could live with this, because those moments work quite well.

It’s the horror aspects of this movie that’re the problem. And, the best way I can think of to describe my issue with them is that they feel a bit too…Hallmark Channel?

You know how movies on the Hallmark Channel have that easily recognisable inauthenticity to them? It’s kind of like how soap operas have a particular tone to them, where everything is just a bit over-exaggerated, except that Hallmark movies are over the top and schmaltzy. I’m not going to say it’s impossible to make that kind of tone work in a horror movie, but it certainly needs to be handled in a particular kind of way if it’s going to be done right (Reefer Madness, anyone?).

The scene in the Chinese restaurant is almost cool, though. So, points for trying, I guess?

 

* Actually, the same goes for Parker Posey, now that I think about it; although I think she’s a better actor than Jessica Alba

Leave a Reply

