Day #232: Wolf Moon (Vertigo Comics)

[ Cullen Bunn | Jeremy Haun ]

Synopsis:

[From Vertigo Comics:] When Dillon Chase’s family was slaughtered by the wolf, his life was forever changed. Dillon sets out to destroy the creature, but he soon learns that lycanthropy is far more insidious than the legends ever said. With each full moon, he draws closer to the monster – and with each full moon, he becomes more aware that in order to stop the wolf, he must kill a human being and become a fearful monster himself.

My take:

I hated the last werewolf-related comic that I read so much that I didn’t even bother writing about it. Not only was the storyline bland, but the gender representations were so regressive that I just found myself constantly frustrated.

So, I approached Wolf Moon with a bit of trepidation.

Straight off the bat, I like that they’ve taken a different path with the lore relating to werewolves – framing the werewolf (and this is in the first issue, so it’s not really a spoiler, but…!) as a curse, or spirit, which moves from host to host, rather than it being a disease passed on through a bite. This makes the story a bit more interesting; and having the main character, Dillon, be a former victim turned hunter gives him a bit of emotional depth that he might have otherwise lacked.

It also opens up the world a bit – giving the story some space (literal and figurative) to move around, grow, and change over time; as does the presence of another hunter who’s killing former hosts. These elements mean that there’s a lot of material to work with in an ongoing series – and doesn’t cage the comics in too much in the process.

As for the art, what stands out to me the most is the colour palette. Certain scenes – and characters – are washed in specific colours, which set the mood in a recognisable yet still subtle way. It’s an effect that I like, because it shows that the ‘feel’ of certain scenes have been carefully considered.

Overall, I like it! It’s still early days (4 issues have been released), but I can see a lot of potential in what’s been released so far. And, as I’m sure you’re aware by now, potential means a lot to me – for good and bad.

Leave a Reply

