Day #231: Twixt (2011)

Twixt (2011) (Rated R)

Twixt (2011) (Rated R)

Synopsis:

[From IMDb:] A writer with a declining career arrives in a small town as part of his book tour and gets caught up in a murder mystery involving a young girl.

My take:

On those rare occasions when I see or hear about Val Kilmer being in some weird little movie, I can’t help but think to myself, “This man was once Batman”.

I don’t think about this because he’s aged, or put on weight (and lost some hair), or anything like that. No, it’s got more to do with the fact 1. it always struck me as a strange role for him in the first place, largely because he’s never been a particularly good actor, and 2. he’s a good example of how having a big, well-known role doesn’t necessarily translate itself into an ongoing career.

The acting in this movie – Kilmer’s in particular – is the biggest problem for me. Its substandard quality* is so distracting that, even in those scenes that are the most intriguing, I found it hard to become too engaged.

It’s clear that there’s something going on beneath the surface of Twixt – a greater meaning to general banality of Hall’s (Val Kilmer) waking moments, which he explores in his dreams. There’s just something so cooky about these surreal, dialogue-heavy dream scenes – some self-defeating sense of what I can only describe as comedy – that, again, it’s hard to take any of it seriously.

Without a doubt, there’s something interesting here. But, like a good story ruined by a bad writer (and I don’t doubt for a second that Hall Baltimore is a hack writer), I can’t help but feel like Twixt was a wasted opportunity. It just needed to be handled with some more style, frankly.

I did like the scene with the operatic goths, though. So, there’s that?

 

* Barring one brief scene where Kilmer is doing some impressions, which is actually so good it’s funny.

One thought on “Day #231: Twixt (2011)

Leave a Reply

