Day #222: Hostel (2005)

Hostel (2005) (Rated R)

Hostel (2005) (Rated R)

Synopsis:

[From IMDb:] Three backpackers head to a Slovak city that promises to meet their hedonistic expectations, with no idea of the hell that awaits them.

My take:

I could spend time talking about the concept behind a movie about Hostel, or the characters, or whatever, and it would largely end up being irrelevant. Because, let’s be blunt here: who gives a fuck, right? That’s not what a movie like Hostel is about.

It’s not even necessarily about the nudity, sex and drugs – although these are obviously factors that employed both as plot devices, and methods of encouraging more people to view the movie.

I’m not suggesting that these things are bad – actually, Hostel has a surprisingly good plot and sense of progression for a movie of this kind; and, although I don’t think I appreciated this at the time came out, it definitely stood out to me that Hostel is actually a much better movie – overall – than I realised. But that was never its draw card.

No, for a movie like Hostel, it’s all about the thrill of the kills.

More specifically, it was about the creativity and shocking, realistic brutality that culminated in the deaths of characters who we might not necessarily like, but had at least come to know on some level.

Now, it is infinitely possible that my current work to sleep ratio is so out of whack at the moment that my capacity for surprise is just a teensy bit out of what at the moment (read: I’m fucking delirious right now), but – I’m surprised by how well Hostel holds up even in this regard, ten years after its release.

For all that it’s a movie about the torture and murder of countless people, it doesn’t get bogged down in that fact. They have fun with it, which means that it might be an ordeal to watch at times, but it’s a fun ordeal. What more could you really want than that?

I can’t say that there aren’t little things that bug me here and there, but, fuck it. Did I enjoy watching this movie? Hells yeah.

Leave a Reply

