Day #220: Gotham By Midnight (DC Comics)

[ Ray Fawkes | Ben Templesmith ]

Synopsis:

[From DC Comics:] Strange doings are afoot in Gotham City! Look out, though – Jim Corrigan [and his team are] on the case…

My take:

I have no interest in Batman, whatsoever. I didn’t even think the Christopher Nolan films were all that good.

[That’s right. You heard read me right.]

So, when I found out about Gotham by Midnight I was a bit iffy about the idea. I figured it would probably end up becoming too wrapped up in the Bat’s mythos to stand on its own, like a certain television show *cough*GOTHAM*cough*. But I gave it a chance all the same, and I’m glad to say that Batman is all but irrelevant to the series, only playing a part for a few frames before running off to brood in the dark (I assume). This means that, much to my relief, Gotham by Midnight is well and truly its own series.

Only three issues have come out at the time I’m writing this (the fourth should come out today, I believe?), so it’s still in its early days, but there’s already a definite sense of momentum in play. Each issue has pushed the story along significantly, while also doing some work to provide some background for the characters on the team. And while there’s still a lot more to be done with respect to the latter issue – like I said, it’s still early days yet.

The one thing that has failed to make an impression on me so far is the artwork. It’s okay, in a seemingly rushed, sketchy kind of way, but – and maybe this is just because I’ve been reading a tonne of comics lately, with fantastic artwork – I’ve found the art in Gotham by Midnight to be a little…underwhelming, to say the least. Serviceable, but not much more.

There’s still a lot of room for growth in Gotham by Midnight, but I’m liking where it’s going so far. It’s cutting out its own little corner in the world of Gotham, where ghosts and ghouls are still somehow on the periphery despite the everyday reality of people running around in weird costumes and blowing stuff up all the time. And, as long as it sticks to its own guns (read: as long as Batman stays away), I’ll happily keep reading.

Leave a Reply

