Day #216: Horror Shorts (Youtube)

I’m spending my Saturday night working on the oh-so-exciting task of getting ready for a new job, so it’s time for another post of curated shorts! Not that these posts actually take less time to prepare (arguably, they take longer, since not everything I watch is shared), but…

Wait, did I just trick myself into procrastinating? Damn it!

The Secluded House (34 minutes)

Synopsis:

[From Youtube:] Four teens document their night on camera as they visit an old, abandoned house that, in recent years, has caused people to go missing as well as played host to other strange occurrences.

They soon realise that the secluded house is more than what it seems.

My take:

Despite a couple of cheesy moments, and a bit of a flat ending, I think that this South Australian short is alright for an amateur short. The acting is mostly fine, the camerawork is pretty steady (which is a small miracle in and of itself!), and the setting is definitely creepy.

It also reminded me of my good old ghost hunting days (shut up), when a friend and I would take our cameras to cemeteries and other creepy locations around the wider Sydney area. Our scariest outings always involved other people – and we were particularly prone to having bizarre encounters in a little town called Picton, where I’m honestly surprised we weren’t murdered.

Ah, the good old days.

 

Alone (9 minutes)

Synopsis:

A woman alone in her home fears for her life as strange events start occurring.

My take:

Alone is a cliche from top to bottom, but I can’t deny that it’s well shot and edited.

Thresher (7 minutes)

Synopsis:

A man’s struggle to break free of a room he’s been locked in is intensified by the discovery of a horrible monster.

My take:

I’m not such a huge fan of the CGI, but I can’t deny that this is a short with some freakin’ style.

Skypemare (7 minutes)

Synopsis:

[From Youtube:] Alison (Cerina Vincent) is left home alone on Halloween night, but while chatting with her best friend Jenna (Annika Marks) over Skype, something terrifying happens to Jenna, leaving Alison helpless on the other side of the computer screen, watching in horror.

My take:

Honestly, I mostly like this for how it contrasts with the tone of Alone. It has a much lighter, more polished feel to it – with a hint of comedy (that seems to be a mix of intentional and unintentional).

Pictured (3 minutes)

Synopsis:

A picture is worth a thousand screams.

My take:

Although Pictured is so short, it still manages to use its time in a really creative way. In fact, it might just be my favourite short in this post.

Don’t Move (14 minutes)

Synopsis:

[From Youtube:] Set on one fateful night, six friends gather for their monthly ‘games night’… and accidentally unleash a demonic force that might tear them – and their friendships – to pieces.

My take:

I actually don’t think that the internal logic of this short is very consistent, but, damn, you’ve gotta give whoever designed the demon some credit. It looks awesome.

Leave a Reply

