Day #214: The Reaping (2007)

Synopsis:

[From IMDb:] A former Christian missionary, who specializes in debunking religious phenomena, investigates a small town which seems to be suffering from the 10 biblical plagues.

My take:

Debunking miracles seems like a really cool side-gig. You’d get to be all, “IT’S SCIENCE TIME!” at things, destroying the hopes of dreams of millions in the process – making you either a hero or a villain, depending on who you were asking.

Anywho, I didn’t have much time for The Reaping when it first came out. On the one hand, the bad – and largely unnecessary – CGI was a real distraction; and, on the other hand, I never felt that engaged by the story.

Eight years later, my opinion has changed a little. The CGI is still terrible, and I think they use a bit too much B-team footage*, but the quality of the acting does a lot to mitigate any other issues I might have. Both Hilary Swank and Idris Elba brought their…well, probably their B (or C)-games to the movie, but it was good enough, anyway; and while there’s something about David Morrissey is one of those people that screams DANGER! BAD PERSON!! at me no matter what role he’s in, I can’t say he did a bad job in his role as the ‘rational man in an irrational town’. In fact, everyone does a surprisingly good job, considering the story could’ve lent itself to a much more hokey performance from the cast, if they’d wanted to go that way.

As for the ending? Well…even if I liked the twist, it was also super predictable. And a little too neat. And – okay, it just wasn’t that great. In fact, it might have been a bit indefensibly bad in the way that it attempted to so quickly wrapped things up in a neat little bow, but left a whole mess of things unresolved (LIKE A CERTAIN DEATH!), or feeling unearned.

What can I say? Maybe I just wasn’t in the mood to be bugged by these kind of things today.

What I wouldn’t mind seeing is a sequel, which picks up a few years later. Given how the movie ends, it seems like there’d be a pretty interesting story to tell there. It’s easy to see why that ain’t ever going to happen, though.

* I say this because I assume the A-team cameraman knows how to focus a camera

Leave a Reply

