Day #212: Dead Sea (2014)

Synopsis:

[From IMDb:] A Marine Biologist is assigned to investigate the mysterious deaths of marine life in an inland salt water lake that have been attributed to a creature thought to have been the stuff of legend.

My take:

I was not only expecting this to be a monster movie of Sharktopus vs. Pteracuda quality, that’s exactly what I was in the mood for. I wanted something silly and mindless, with bad special effects and acting – a “so bad it’s good” kind of movie.

Well.

I definitely got the bad acting that I was expecting. Or, at least I think I did. The audio mixing was so bad that I regularly couldn’t hear anything more than muffled sounds over the background music, which was consistently much more dramatic than whatever was happening on screen. But, given the quality of what I could hear, I don’t think I’m being unfair here.

There’s something resembling a plot, but I can’t say I understand what it was. There’s some kind of “serpent” that comes around every 30 years, and kills everything in the lake until it gets a sacrifice. And a group of people in the town who know about the serpent, but also seem to be a crime ring? And they keep everyone in the town, because of…reasons…?

It’s not even like there’s an economic justification for to ignore the danger (insofar as something restricted to a body of water can be seen as dangerous to people who’re, y’know, not in the water), like in Jaws. One of the characters makes the point that the town’s tourism died off years ago, and all it’s known for now is meth.

Why would you not move away from a town known for meth, killer serpents and human sacrifice?

Most disappointing of all, the serpent is barely even seen. It’s mostly just people running around being angry at each other, for no specific reason.

It’s a pretty bad movie that makes me wish I hadn’t been sober while watching it.

2 thoughts on “Day #212: Dead Sea (2014)

    • At one point, when asked why he didn’t just leave with her, one character lamely responded that all of his memories are in that town.

      Because, clearly memories are locked into a specific geographical location. I mean, I know I can’t remember anything about my childhood since I moved out of that house. It’s just a blank before I moved here.

      Like

Leave a Reply

