Day #195: Boogeyman (2005)

Synopsis:
[From IMDb:] A young man tries to deal with the childhood terror that has affected his life.
My take:

For some reason, I had it firmly planted in my mind that Ian Somerhalder was the star of this movie. Huh.

Anyway, I really didn’t like Boogeyman when I first saw it. It struck me as a movie aiming for an intellectual tone and failing, firmly falling into the pretentious category as a result.

Now, it’s been a few years since I formed that opinion – and while I’m not prepared to completely abandon it, my dislike of the movie has at least mellowed. It’s still somewhat pretentious, and I think Barry Watson (a.k.a. Not-Ian-Somerhalder)’s acting can take a lot of the credit for that, but it is perhaps a more thoughtful movie than I originally gave it credit for.

The cinematography and sound work in Boogeyman is actually pretty decent. Both do a good job of setting the tone and building up suspense in a movie where most of the time is spent locked on Watson’s slightly bug-eyed stare. I even quite like the idea of a child’s individual fears giving form to whatever the Boogeyman is.

But, man, the ending of this movie (specifically, the last minute or so) fuck it all up so badly that it’s just so…mind-boggling. It’s just so completely off-tone in comparison to the rest of the movie, and horribly corny, that I can’t help but think of it as quite a masterful example of self-sabotage. Even the terrible CGI used for the Boogeyman doesn’t compare, in terms of moment-ruining aspects of the movie.

Like…wow.

Ignoring the ending, Boogeyman isn’t actually that bad. You can tell that there was some creative thinking going on behind the scenes in order to get as much out of the story as possible, and I can appreciate that. It’s just too bad that they weren’t able to follow through with that creativity and come up with a better way to finish things up.

Leave a Reply

