Day #187: The ABCs of Death 2 (2014)

The ABCs of Death 2 (2014)

The ABCs of Death 2 (2014) (Not Rated)

Synopsis:

[From IMDb:] Another 26-chapter anthology that showcases death in all its vicious wonder and brutal beauty.

My take:

I mentioned in the comments of my post for The ABCs of Death that I was hoping the sequel would have some more maturity to it. As I put it then:

I don’t even necessarily care if it’s just more bodily fluids/functions, as long as there’s some more thought put into how to engage with that material

In that respect, The ABCs of Death 2 definitely lived up to my hopes. Not to take away from the good entries in the original ABCs, but there’s been a major improvement overall – both conceptually and technically.

I could have had a lot more entries on my ‘Likes’ list this time around; and even those shorts that didn’t necessarily pique my interest as much were still, generally speaking, of a decent quality. They just didn’t necessarily resonate with me, or have as much polish as their peers.

So, yeah. I’m very happy that I finally got around to watching this anthology – and, unlike with certain other anthology franchises *COUGH*V/H/S*COUGH*, I’m actually looking forward to another installment coming out.

Like:

D is for Deloused: D is also for bloody disturbing, apparently. And that’s great.

F is for Falling: Short, but powerful..

N is for Nexus: While I think the execution could’ve been better, it did a really good job of building tension in the lead up to the final moments.

R is for Roulette: A smart little short with a nice little twist at the end.

S is for Split: Although the reasons are entirely different, you can rinse and repeat my comment for R.

Z is for Zygote: I’m still mulling over what I think about the message of this particular short, but I can’t deny that it was executed superbly.

Dislike:

E is for Equilibrium: I know it’s a common joke, but, no, women are not men’s real problem. This short just bugged me on principle.

Leave a Reply

