Day #183: The Descent: Part 2 (2009)

Synopsis:

[From IMDb:] Refusing to believe her story about cave-dwelling monsters, the sole survivor of a spelunking exploration gone horribly wrong is forced to follow the authorities back into the caves where something awaits.

My take:

Whatever today’s post was going to be, it was going to suffer derision for forcing me away from Dragon Age: Inquisition. So, let it be a movie that deserves it.

The Descent: Part 2 is an offensive cash-grab, riding on the back of the success of The Descent – and shitting all over anything positive about it, in the process. Any credit I ever gave to the makers of The Descent I hereby revoke, because this abomination never should have been.

While The Descent left a lot open to interpretation, Part 2 nullifies that. Sarah (Shauna Macdonald) is alive, and escaped. Now there’s a rescue mission, blah, blah blah.

Honestly, I can’t describe how much I dislike Part 2 without reverting to a string of expletives.

Oh wait, yes I do: it’s stupid, and it makes no fucking sense.

Okay, so there was one expletive in there.

Traumatised victim taken back to the site of her trauma, even though she can’t remember anything? Check.

Flashbacks to the original movie, which are then not shared with others? Check.

Ridiculous survival of a past character, and even more stupid ending? Check and fucking check.

Look. To a certain extent, I don’t have a problem with people making money off their own intellectual property. The Descent was such a success of modern horror that it makes sense for there to be a sequel.

Just not this irredeemable piece of shit.

I absolutely would have been open to a sequel of The Descent, because I felt like it left a lot of options open for further exploration. And if the sequel had gone for the same kind of feel as its predecessor, I would’ve been on board. But it didn’t; and we all suffered for it.

And, to top it all off, casting one of the most bland human beings alive for this movie? I hate you, almost as much as you hate us all.

2 thoughts on “Day #183: The Descent: Part 2 (2009)

    • I ate dinner and wrote this post as I watched the movie, so my play-time wasn’t interrupted all that much. 😉

      I clocked over 100 hours on my first play-through and started a second before I moved on to another game. Rogue archers aren’t as fun to play as mages lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

