Day #182: Let Me In (2010)

Synopsis:
[From IMDb:] A bullied young boy befriends a young female vampire who lives in secrecy with her guardian.
My take:

In contrast to yesterday’s post, today I’m firm in my position on Let Me In. I think it’s a great movie, which manages to hit all the right notes in its exploration of themes such as the monstrous, love, isolation, growing up, and what kind of decisions we can make when survival is at stake.

Perhaps one of my favourite elements of the movie is the contrast between Abby (Chloë Moretz) and Kenny (Dylan Minnette). That might seem like a weird thing to focus on, considering Kenny – who relentlessly bullies Owen (Kodi Smit-McPhee) – is essentially secondary to the main plot, but the comparison between these characters is one of the many examples of nuanced writing to be found in Let Me In. Who’s the real monster; the girl who needs blood in order to survive, or the boy who tortures others in order to work through his own demons? Whatever your answer, the fact that this question – and many other questions – can be asked in the first place, is a sign that the movie’s ambiguity has been used to good effect.

Of course, all of this is enhanced by the fact that the movie looks and sounds great, too. The visuals are sparse and bleak, the soundtrack is emotive, and both work to bolster the emotional impact of the budding relationship that develops between a beaten down young boy and a lonely young vampire, weighed down by her own darkness.

Although I believe I’ve watched Let the Right One In, I can’t for the life of me remember anything about it – so even if I wanted to play the “who did it better?” game, I couldn’t*. Let Me In certainly doesn’t feel like an inferior product to me, though; and it was great to be reminded why I like Chloë Moretz, after that…other movie.

* But, of course, at some point I will.

Leave a Reply

