Day #179: Alien (1979)

Alien (1979) (Rated R)

Alien (1979) (Rated R)

Synopsis:

[From IMDb:] The commercial vessel Nostromo receives a distress call from an unexplored planet. After searching for survivors, the crew heads home only to realize that a deadly bioform has joined them.

My take:

Look, let’s not pretend that there’s going to be any controversy about my take on this movie: I love it. Of course I do. And while I can acknowledge that there must be some people out there who don’t like it (because that’s like a cosmic rule or something, right?), that doesn’t mean that I could begin to fathom why they don’t like it – unless they just don’t do horror/sci-fi/action films, in which case, they are problematic creatures to begin with.

What I find interesting about Alien (and the franchise as a whole) is how, in 1979, it brought to the screen this majorly bad arse female lead character, who was also smart and empathetic – i.e. what you’d get from a male lead in a similar movie, but better – and yet, despite the popularity of the movie, and Ripley (Sigourney Weaver) herself…this was pretty much the sole benchmark for this kind of character (of this gender) for-fucking-ever.

And I realise that was a really long sentence, but bear with me.

How has it taken us 30ish years to get to the point where we’re just starting to see more female leads that might tentatively be placed in that same kind of category? I mean, obviously we’ve had some here and there; and horror in particular has an…interesting…relationship with heroic female leads, but we’ve known for decades that it could be done a) well and b) successfully.

Decades!

*sigh*

Anyway, Alien is awesome, and we need more Ridley Scotts on our big screens (except not literally, because the last time that happened was, uh…yeah). ’nuff said.

Once I’m done playing Dragon Age: Inquisition, I’m going to see if my computer can handle Alien: Isolation. If it can, you’ll hear about it right here.

Leave a Reply

