Day #158: Gremlins (1984)

MV5BNTQ4NDQyNTgxN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTc2NTA0Mg@@._V1_SY317_CR7,0,214,317_AL_

Gremlins (1984)

Synopsis:

[From IMDb:] A boy inadvertently breaks 3 important rules concerning his new pet and unleashes a horde of malevolently mischievous monsters on a small town.

My take:

Now, I’m generally not the type of person to make declarative statements about taste, because I think that it’s a highly subjective matter. But, if you don’t think that Gremlins is great, then you’re a monster. A MONSTER, I TELL YOU!

Gremlins perfectly combines the stereotypical feel-good holiday movie with mischievous, and occasionally murderous monsters.

IT HAS GIZMO:

Gizmo

GIZMO!

giphy

And these terrifying guys!

Gremlins-stripe-540x304

I'm pretty sure this scared the shit out of me when I was a kid.

I’m pretty sure this scared the shit out of me when I was a kid.

Honestly, I’m not sure what else to say. It’s Gremlins! If you haven’t already (re)watched it this holiday season, go and do so right now.

 

P.S. Isn’t the message here really that humans are the monsters? I mean, they wiped out all but one member of a species, just because they came out of the cocoon acting badly. We don’t wipe out babies for not knowing societal rules! Fucking humans, ruining everything.

P.P.S. I’m not opposed to a third installment of Gremlins, as long as it still uses mostly puppets for the Mogwai. I’m not convinced that CGI could do them justice.

P.P.P.S. Given the holiday period, I’m a bit behind on my anything-but-movie-watching, so chances are pretty high that there’ll only be movie posts between now and the new year. I’ll return to the regularly scheduled variety of content come the new year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

