Day #124: The Fog (1980)

MV5BMTMzNTk5MjQyM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODQxOTAzMQ@@._V1_SY317_CR3,0,214,317_AL_

The Fog (1980) IMDB

Synopsis:
[From IMDB:] A Northern California fishing town, built 100 years ago over an ancient leper colony, becomes shrouded by a killer fog containing zombie-like ghosts seeking revenge for their deaths.

My take:

The Fog is a beautiful film. From the locations (that coastline! that church!), to the soundtrack, to the quality of the production – it’s all top grade stuff.

It also has some great acting pretty much across the board, which is a pleasant surprise.

So, even though I can recognise these positive things, it’s with no small bit of trepidation that I just found the movie kind of…dull. And I can’t really put my finger on why.

The Fog is a slow burner that relies on suspense rather than shock and awe – although it does have some jump scares here and there. In theory, I have no problem with this, because jump scares get boring pretty quickly; whereas well-developed tension/suspense doesn’t.

This might be where my problem with The Fog lies. I don’t feel like there’s any real tension until the final act of the movie; and even then, I feel like it’s a combination of good acting and the movie’s score that does all the work, while the story and the threat of the fog and what it bringsĀ just lag behind. There also seem to be a few things hinted at (particularly relating to Jamie Lee Curtis’ character, Elizabeth) that were ultimately never mentioned again; and this lack of engagement with elements of the story that could have added some more depth to it was disappointing, to say the least.

I had a quick squiz at the IMDB forum for this movie and realise that, at least by the sentiments expressed there, I’m on the outer here. But, yeah, unfortunately I found The Fog to be a high quality bore.

Leave a Reply

