Day #83: Kiss the Abyss (2012)

MV5BMTgyOTQzMDg5NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzIyMjIyOQ@@._V1_SY317_CR7,0,214,317_AL_

Kiss the Abyss (2012) IMDB

Synopsis:

When Lesley (Nicole Moore) is killed, her husband (Scott Wilson) agrees to her father’s suggestion that they take her body to someone who says he can bring her back to life. Although successful, her revival has consequences that no one could have expected.

My take:

In my post about The Pact I mentioned that I didn’t feel like the lack of answers to some questions mattered all that much to my engagement with the overall story. Unfortunately, I think the opposite is true of Kiss the Abyss. Not necessarily because they were important to the (pretty straightforward) story, but because it seemed like there was a much more interesting story that we weren’t being told.

By comparison, the story that Kiss the Abyss did focus on came across as, well, pretty mediocre.

While nothing stood out as particularly bad (unless, like me, the use of the abuse of women as a horror movie trope also bugs you), there were also little that stood out at the other end of the spectrum. In fact, aside from the special effects, which I actually thought were pretty good, mediocrity seemed to be the name of the game.

You know what I’d really like to see? A sequel, which actually teases out the bigger story that was just alluded to in Kiss the Abyss. That might seem like a weird thing to say about a movie that I just said is mediocre, but I can’t help but feel like there’s the germ of something bigger and better here, just waiting for the right treatment to bring it to the fore.

The fact that I feel intrigued enough about the back-story of Kiss the Abyss to think it warrants a sequel probably means that I shouldn’t walk away from this post leaving the impression that I think it’s a bad movie. I actually don’t think it is. I just…I wanted more, y’know?

Leave a Reply

