Day #80: The Pact (2012)

MV5BMTU1NDI4ODA4N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNDMyMzk4Nw@@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_AL_

The Pact (2012) IMDB

Synopsis:

[From IMDB:] As a woman struggles to come to grips with her past in the wake of her mother’s death, an unsettling presence emerges in her childhood home.

My take:

The main successes of The Pact come in two forms:

1. Tension. There’s an ongoing build up of tension, which is controlled really well throughout. Now, some might think that the movie is a bit too slow to deliver, but as long as you’re not expecting a-scare-a-minute, I think you should be fine.

2. The blending of the real and the supernatural. Rather than falling down too far on either side of this divide, The Pact moves between the two in a way that leaves the viewer with a lot of questions, but – usually – only a hint of an answer. Again, for some this might seem like a weakness, but I think that it mostly works. Would I have been happy with some more certainty on a couple of issues? Sure. But I don’t really feel like I was missing out on anything particularly important to the story without it.

As for the story itself – well, it’s not really saying anything new, which is probably the greatest weakness of The Pact. It ticks a lot of the usual boxes in pretty typical ways. However, the visual styling of the movie – which employs some very nice camerawork – keeps it from falling into the same unimaginative traps that a lot of other cliche-ridden movies fall into. And if that sounds like I’m damning the movie with faint praise, uh…I suppose I am, even though I also think that The Pact is a good movie.

Yeah, I think I just confused myself, too.

Anyway, The Pact 2 has just been released, and I plan to see it. So, despite its weaknesses, I guess The Pact did its job!

One thought on “Day #80: The Pact (2012)

  1. Pingback: Day #83: Kiss the Abyss (2012) |

Leave a Reply

