Day #75: Raaz (Secret) (2002)

220px-Raaz_2002_film.jpg-338910

Raaz (A.K.A. Secret) (2002) IMDB

Synopsis:

[From IMDB:] Sanjana and Aditya decide to give their marriage one last chance. They plan a holiday in Ooty, but they don’t know that a strange figure is waiting for them to come.

My take:

I like musicals. And I like horror. So, when a friend pointed out to me that Hindi horror movies had a habit of combining these two genres, well, obviously I had to get my hands on as many Hindi horror movies as I could.

As the first Hindi horror that I can remember ever watching, Raaz had a tough job. It not only had to stand out in its own right, but it was essentially taking on the responsibility of introducing me to a whole new subset of the horror genre. Thankfully, it lived up to the task. Not because it was scary (although my friend said it “literally made [him] piss his pants” when he saw it), but because it was so nostalgic.

Raaz was basically a synthesis of everything that makes me love 70’s/80’s horror movies – with the same cheesy campness that those iconic movies all seemed to have – with what I can best describe as all of the drama of a soap opera. That might sound a bit offputting (and, to be honest, I could have done with at least half an hour less of movie to watch, since just under 2.5 hours is a looooong time), but there was just something so entertaining about it.

Ashutosh Rana, who played Professor Agni Swaroop, stands out as a perfect example of what Raaz has to offer. His acting was so over the top, with his screaming and ranting being thrown around willy nilly, that I loved every scene he was in. He was chewing up everything, even managing to take focus away from the amazing eyes of Bipasha Basu, who played the movie’s lead character, Sanjana.

BAM!

BAM! Look at them eyes.

I may not have been scared at all while watching Raaz, but if this is what I can expect from Hindi horror movies, I’ll definitely be watching some more in the near future.

Leave a Reply

