Day #73: Third Eye (2014)

20140127_204153-kdcollage

Third Eye (2014) IMDB

Synopsis:

After the brutal murder of her parents by the abusive partner of a neighbour, Mylene discovers that she has the ability to see ghosts. After closing her third eye, Mylene’s grandmother explains that her abilities will return in times of stress.

Years later, when her relationship with her husband Jimmy starts to become strained, she again starts to see spirits; but will her ability be a blessing or a curse as she faces unexpected events?

My take:

I can’t say I expected much from this movie going into it, as I thought it was going to be something akin to a low budget remake of The Eye. I have to admit though, I was pleasantly surprised – not necessarily because it was much better than I expected (it was a little better), but because it at least brought together some elements of the genre in a way that I didn’t expect. I appreciate that it did something new, even if I’m not yet entirely sure that it worked all that well.

There’s a few things I’d like to tease out a bit more in writing, but my no spoilers policy is preventing me. Sufficed to say, I have to give Third Eye credit for at least leaving me thinking once the credits had started rolling – even if what I was left pondering is whether what the first third of the movie sets up really ended up having much bearing on the remaining two thirds. I’m not so sure it did.

That’s all a bit cryptic, isn’t it?

Well, what I can say is that I definitely didn’t expect things to go the way they did, and that on that basis alone I’m fine with recommending you give it a try. You probably won’t find your new favourite horror movie, but at least you might find yourself having that same sense of appreciation for the attempt at something different as I did.

I’ll just finish off with one more important point, which is: Jimmy is an arsehole.

Leave a Reply

