Day #69: Godzilla (2014)

MV5BMTQ0ODgzNjg2MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNDkxMzc3MDE@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_AL_

Godzilla (2014) IMDB

Synopsis:

[From IMDB:] The world’s most famous monster is pitted against malevolent creatures who, bolstered by humanity’s scientific arrogance, threaten our very existence.

My take:

It seems appropriate that, for my 69th post, I unintentionally chose a movie that sucks d–…

Okay! Okay. I won’t go there.

But, seriously, what the hell? There was something so tonally off about this movie, I thought I was watching a big budget SyFy movie (except that Sharktopus vs. Pteracuda was more fun).

I did think that the Striped Hawk-moth inspired creature looked pretty cool. Hell, I even thought the monster battle was cool – what little of it there was. So there’s that.

AND! I chose to turn this experience into something positive, and have decided to turn the watching of this movie into a drinking game. The rules are as follows:

Drink a shot every time:

– an actor completely fails to hit the appropriate emotional queue for the given scenario

– Ken Watanabe does that creepy angry-glare

– a child is put into danger in order to try and get some emotional reaction from the audience

I’d add more items to the list, but you’ll already be drunk within <30 minutes of the movie beginning.

You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

