Day #52: Suspiria (1977)

MV5BMjI5NTA4NzI1OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNzczMDY5MDE@._V1_SX214_AL_

Suspiria (1977) IMDB

Synopsis:

[From IMDB:] A newcomer to a fancy ballet academy gradually comes to realize that the school is a front for something far more sinister and supernatural amidst a series of grisly murders.

My take:

So. Suspiria.

Suspiria is beautiful, both in terms of its set design and its cinematography. The soundtrack is deeply unsettling, and does an amazing job of creating tension. So, it’s a beautiful, unsettling…

…mess of a movie.

Now, I realise that Suspiria is a cult classic, so saying that it’s a mess is a controversial stance to take, but, man…I tried. Really, I tried. And I really did think that, technically, it was masterful. I just didn’t enjoy anything about the meandering, underwhelming story that, theoretically, was meant to be pulling all of those technical aspects together.

I generally have an appreciation for the classics, but – on a scale of hit or miss – Suspiria was such a miss for me, I don’t even know if I’m capable of saying much more about how I didn’t like it.

At least I can now say that I’ve watched it. So, there’s something, I guess.

2 thoughts on “Day #52: Suspiria (1977)

  1. Pingback: Day #53: Under the Skin (2013) |

  2. Pingback: Day #81: Phantasm (1979) |

Leave a Reply

