Day #29: Manifest Destiny (Comic)

manifest-destiny-04

Manifest Destiny (Ongoing) | Image Comics

Synopsis:

Manifest Destiny is an alternate history of Meriwether Lewis and William Clark’s exploration of the new frontier, in which the American landscape is full of mysteries and monsters.

My take:

I feel like any discussion about Manifest Destiny absolutely has to begin with declarations about how beautiful it is. On a page-by-page basis, Matthew Roberts has produced detailed illustrations, which show us a world that is both beautiful and wild. The character designs are distinct (which is not true of all comics, unfortunately), and the monsters are fantastic. It’s just a joy to take in.

Chris Dingess has also done a great job of developing a sweeping narrative, populated by characters whose motivations are complex and believable. His female characters in particular are strong-willed and well-fleshed out, which is always a bonus as far as I’m concerned.

Not being an American, I’m possibly missing some of the elements that could give this story some extra depth. For example, while some of the names are familiar to me, I can’t say I know too much about their real world histories. But I don’t think this takes anything away from my enjoyment of the characters, or their journey.

I unreservedly recommend Manifest Destiny for anyone looking for a new adventure to follow.

Leave a Reply

